Create a draft version of a document

 

Check-out is an action that creates a draft version of an AODocs document. A subset of users can update the draft. All users who had access to the document before the check-out can access the main version of the document, in read-only.

When a check-out is manual, the draft is accessible only to the user who performs the check-out. This user can then authorize other users to access the draft.

Check-in is an action that converts the draft to a new version of the document. The main version becomes a previous version. 

Learn more: What is check-out / check-in?

Important: Check-out / check-in can be manual or automated:
- If a check-out was triggered manually, the check-in must be manual. 
- If a check-out was triggered through a workflow, the check-in must happen through a workflow transition. Learn more: Workflow example with version control.

This article explains how to use the manual check-out and check-in features:

Check out a document
View the draft version of a document
View the main version of a document
Share the draft version with other users
 Check in the document


Check out a document

In your document, select Versions in the left panel and press the Check-out button.

A new draft version of the document is created. By default, only the user who created the draft and library administrators can view and edit it. As the creator of the draft, you can share the draft version with other users if you want them to view or edit it. 

image01.png


View the draft version of a document

In the list of documents, users who have access to the draft version of the document can see a lock icon to the left of the document title. Users who don't have access to the draft version don't see the lock icon.

Important:
- If you have access to the draft, the view displays the properties and workflow state of the draft.
- If you don't have access to the draft, the view displays the properties and workflow state of the main version.

image02.png

When you open the draft version of the document, you can see:

  • the name of the draft version: by default, Draft ${documentTitle}
  • an orange Draft version tag
  • a check-out banner containing:
    • text indicating when the document was checked out and who checked out the document
    • a link to the main version of the document
    • Discard draft button
    • Check-in button
  • a workflow banner, indicating that workflow actions are unavailable because the document was checked out manually - press More details 

image03.png


View the main version of a document

Users who have access to the draft version of a document can press the link to the main version from the check-out banner in the draft version.

The main version of the document:

  • has the same content as before the check-out
  • has a banner indicating that a draft version exists - press More details to display when the document was checked out and who checked out the document
  • is read only while the draft version exists

Note: Users who don't have access to the draft version see the main version when they open the document. The banner and tag aren't displayed. 

image04.png


Share the draft version with other users

As a contributor of the draft or as an administrator, you can share the draft version with other users. 
Note: Contributors of the draft version, including the user who checked out the document, can't update the sharing permissions if library administrators have forbidden contributors to update the sharing permissions at the document class level.

Important: Changing the permissions in the draft version affects only the draft version. The main version is not affected by these permissions changes.

1. Press the Edit document or folder permissions button in the action bar. The Document permissions pop-up opens.

2. Enter the name of a person or a group. 

3. Press Add.

4. Select the required permissions for the person or group you added.

image05.png


Check in the document

When you have finished editing the draft version, you can check in the document. The draft version becomes a new version of the document.

Notes: 
- Alternatively, you can cancel the check-out. This discards the draft and restores the main version.
- Only users with edit access to the draft version can check it in or cancel the check-out.
- You can't delete a document that is checked out. First check in the document or cancel the check-out.

1. In the draft document, press the Check-in button.

image06.png

2. In the Check-in the document pop-up, enter:

  • a name for the version
  • a description for the version, if required

Note: You can’t use the same name as another version of the document.

image07.png

The previous main version of the document is still accessible from Versions in the left panel. Learn more: Manage document versions in an AODocs library

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.