Share your library in a Document Management library

 

As a library administrator, you can define your library administrators, contributors and readers though the library security settings.

If you are administrator of a Team Folder or a Secured Folder, you are recommended to access the library settings from the Google Drive interface with the AODocs Smartbar.

Learn more: 

As a library administrator, you can: 

Access your library security settings
Manage access to your library using visibility options
Manage access to your library configuring Google groups and users permissions


Access your library security settings

1. Open your library.

2. Select Administration > Library security. The Library security pop-up opens.


Manage access to your library using visibility options

Choose a visibility option:

  • Private library: only listed users and groups have access — access to the library is only given for individual user or Google groups
  • Public library: all users in the domain have user access — all domain users will be members of the Reader role in the library
  • Public library: all users in the domain have contributor access — all domain users will be members of the Contributor role in the library

Learn more: What are roles?

image01.png


Manage access to your library configuring Google groups and users permissions

Important: Regardless of the visibility option chosen, you can grant access to your library to specific users or Google groups.
If a user is defined by both a visibility option and in specific permissions (as an individual user or in a Google group), the wider permissions will be granted to this user.

1. Enter the email address of a user or Google Group. 

2. Press Add. The user or group is added to the list. 

image02.png

3. Define the role of the user. 

Note: After the creation of a new library, the library creator and the storage admin are the only library administrators but they can add and remove library administrators. 

image03.png

  

Administrator

Members of the administrator role have full access to all the documents in the library, bypassing the document-level security. Administrators are also automatically members of the contributor and reader roles, even if they don't explicitly appear in the users and groups assigned to these roles.

Contributor

Members of the contributor role can be given read/write permission on the Documents in the Library. Being member of the contributor role does not grant write permission on all documents, but rather make it possible to be given this permission: to be able to modify a document, a user must be at the same time member of the contributor role and have write permission on the document. Members of the contributor role are also automatically members of the reader role, even if they don't explicitly appear in the users and groups assigned to this role.

Reader

Members of the Reader role can see the library in the "My Libraries" homepage, open the library and search for documents. They can open the documents for which they have read permission. Being member of the reader role does not grant read permission on all documents, but rather make it possible to be given this permission, to be able to view a document, a user must be at the same time member of the reader role and have read permission on the document.

Learn more: What are roles?

4. Press Save.

5. If required, you can remove a user or group by pressing the red cross.

6. If required, you can press the Apply same permissions to root folder’s children items link to apply these library permissions to every document in the library. This resets any existing document permissions.

Learn more: Configure inherited permissions on document classes.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.