Users can delete documents and folders if they have the permission to do so in a library. Once a document is deleted, it goes to the AODocs library trash. The document stays in the library trash until the defined library retention period or if manually permanently deleted by a library administrator.
Additionally, a library administrator can restore the deleted item.
|Delete files and folders in Team Folders and Security Folders|
|Disabled Delete feature|
Delete files and folders in Team Folders and Security Folders
1. In Google Drive, select the file or folder you want to delete.
2. Press the Delete file or Delete folder button on the right.
Deleting a file from Google Drive
Deleting a folder from Google Drive
Alternatively, open your file in the Google Drive file preview and select Delete in the Smartbar menu
Deleting a file from the Google Drive file preview
Note: If you use the navigation buttons in the Google Drive file preview, the Smartbar menu is no longer accessible.
3. Press Delete in the confirmation pop-up.
Note: In Google Drive, contributors can delete folders that aren't empty, but only files and folders on which they have edit rights will be deleted.
When you press Delete, the deleted item is grayed out in Google Drive and disappears after a few seconds.
The deleted item is then sent to the library trash. Only administrators can restore deleted items.
What if you can't delete files or folders?
Library administrators can restrict contributors' permissions, to prevent them from deleting documents and folders. In this case, the Delete feature is disabled for contributors.
Disabled Delete button in Google Drive
Disabled Delete option in the Smartbar menu in the Google Drive file preview