Manage document versions in an AODocs library

As a contributor, you can create a new version of a document. The new version stores the properties, relations, descriptions and attachments of the document. 

Important:
- You can view previous versions if you have read access to a document.
- Previous versions of documents are read only.
- Only contributors can create new versions.

This article explains how to:

Access the Versions panel of a document
Create a new version of a document
View a previous version of a document
Revert a document to a previous version


Access the Versions panel of a document

1. Open a document.

2. In the sidebar, press the Versions button. The Versions panel opens. Each version is defined by a name or a number, a description and a version creator.

Note: The document page for previous versions may have different sections displayed from the current version. Your library administrator can customize the display of previous versions of documents differently from the way they're customized for current versions. Learn more: Manage the display of AODocs documents.

image01.png


Create a new version of a document

1. As a contributor, in the Versions panel, press the + new version button.

Note: If library administrators have disabled the manual versioning, the + new version button isn't available for anyone.

2. Enter a name for your new version.

Note: You can’t use the same name as another version of the document.

3. Edit a version description, if required.

4. Press Create. A new version is created and becomes the current version.

When you create a new version of an AODocs document, the document, its properties and its attachments are duplicated and archived. This is so you can revert to a previous version of a document if required. The content is not modified.

Note: It may take a few seconds to create a new version, depending on the number of attachments.

image02.png


View a previous version of a document

As an AODocs user, you can view the content of a previous version, but you can't edit it.

From the Versions panel of the document:

1. Go to the Previous versions section.

2. To view a previous version of a Google file, press the View this version button next to the version you want to view. The previous version opens in a new tab.

Tip: Hover over the image of a version creator for more details.

image03.png

3. To view a previous version of a non-Google file, you must download it first. Press the View this version button next to the version you want to view. A new tab opens where you can download your non-Google file.
Learn more: What are document attachments?


Revert a document to a previous version

Only contributors can restore the content of a previous version as a new version. 

Note: If library administrators have disabled the manual versioning, the Revert to this version button won't be available for anyone.

From the Versions panel of the document:

1. Press the Revert to this version button next to the required version.

2. Set the name and the description of the new version.

Note: You can’t use the same name as another version of the document.

3. Press Revert. A new version is created. The new version is a copy of the version you reverted from.

Note: Reverting a document to a previous version doesn't change the location of the document. For example, if you moved a document from folder A to folder B and revert the document now located in folder B to a previous version when it was in folder A, the document is reverted but stays in folder B. image04.png

Note: When you revert a document to a previous version, you become the creator of the reverted document, even if you didn't create the version you reverted to.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.